Review : Exposed by Kimberly Marcus

SPOILERS EXIST

The Summary : Told in verse, this story follows 16 year old Liz, known as the “Photogirl,” and her “forever best” Kate, The dancer. Liz and Kate have been best friends for as long as they can remember, and until one night, nothing has ever come between them. One night, all of that changes. A fight at their monthly sleepover separates them for long enough for the unthinkable to happen to Kate. Liz now has to decide what she believes whether or not her own brother would hurt her best friend. Their friendship can’t and wont survive this.

The Characters :

Liz : Liz sort of reminded me of myself. I used to be knows as the “photography girl” when I was in high school and college. She came off to me as a regular girl, who was just torn between being a good friend, and a good sister. She has to decide who’s side she’s truly on, all while being forced to pick the side of her family. The only thing that I didn’t like about her, is that she sort of just lashed out at Kate, before she knew the whole story of what happened.

Kate : Kate has every right to be bitchy, but I don’t like how she refused to talk to Liz about it. She just pushes her away, and then lies about it. Had Kate just told Liz what happened that night, then she could have had Liz more on her side during the trial.

The Plot : This was an interesting story, but it lacked something to make it stand out as a novel. The plot was there, and It was a good story, but nothing was too exciting. I did like that the author didn’t put Kate and Liz back to being best friends at the end, and showing that there are actually some things that you can’t come back from.

The Overall : I know that this was a short review, but Exposed was a short book. I read this in about 3 hours, so It was a really quick read, which was perfect for what I wanted at that time. I would give this book a 3, because I liked the characters, but the plot just wasn’t there for me. It was a little shallow, compared to the verse books that I’m used to. I would recommend this for younger readers of Ellen Hopkins, and Laurie Halse Anderson. I would have really liked this book when I was about 13 or 14.

 

Leave a Reply

