Recent Book Haul.

Hey guys, so I know I said that I was going to buy less books this year, and I tried, I really did. But, I’m clearly not perfect, so I bought a bunch of books. But I really am done this time, I promise.

So, for the next two posts, I am going to go through the books that I’ve purchased since February.

I am going to start with the books that I have purchased on my Kindle.

I downloaded the Insurgent by Veronica Roth on audible.com. I am not going to go into detail describing what this book is about, because it is a sequel, but I will say that it picks up exactly where Divergent leaves off, and it is very good so far.

The next book that I downloaded for my Kindle was Free Four by Veronica Roth. Free Four is actually a novella that ties in with the Divergent trilogy. This is actually the knife throwing scene from Divergent, but retold in Four’s perspective. This sounds excellent, so I will definitely let you know how it goes.

The next book that I got was Fireworks Over Suburbia by J. Merridew. J. Merridew is actually a blogger on youtube, who is actually one of my favorites these days. He sits in his dorm and recounts his time as a gay high schooler in Pennsylvania of all places, and random stories about his life. Fireworks Over Suburbia is a few short stories that he has written, and I am incredibly excited to read it.

Now onto the physical books that I bought. I have this obsession with buying used books on amazon. Even though I have a Prime membership, so I can get free two day shipping on most books, a lot of times, It’s cheaper to buy a book for $.01 and just pay $3.99 for shipping, because I’m still only paying $4 for a book, instead of the Prime price.

The first book that I bought was The Unthinkable Thoughts of Jacob Green by Joshua Braff. I was recommended this by John Green, in his “15 Best Books That You Haven’t Read” video on his youtube channel. This is a coming of age story about a young Jewish boy who can’t stop thinking “unthinkable” thoughts, about such things as leaving his home, leaving jewish school, and absolutely anything sexual. This book sounds phenomenal so I can’t wait to read this.

The next book is Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. Dash & Lily’s follows the tradition of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, another novel by the same authors, and it is about a young girl who has created a book of clues and dares, and left them on a shelf in a bookstore for the right guy to find them. I am super excited to read this, and to find out if Dash is actually the right guy.

Next I bought Sprout by Dale Peck. Now, I have no idea really what this novel is about. It seems to me like a middle grade to young adult novel about a young gay boy in a Kansas City high school with some sort of secret. But I am really excited to see what this book is about.

The last book that I’m going to talk about today is Dare Me by Eric Devine. I thought this book seemed really interesting, as a youtube creator, and someone who enjoys watching youtube videos. This novel is about a group of boys who somehow stumble into internet fame by creating a video that goes viral. Suddenly this group of boys are internet stars and now they have to consistently one up themselves, and have to decide how far they are willing to go for fame and money.

I’ll finish this haul in the next post on Friday. Thanks for listening, I’m going to try to stop being lazy and post every Tuesday and Friday.

Leave a Reply

