No Valentine, no problem!

So Valentines Day is in 3 days, and you still don’t have a date. Who cares? You know whats better than a date on Valentines day? Fictional characters.

I know, that around Valentines day, I tend to want to re-read one of my favorite love stories, and watch some of my favorite romantic movies and TV shows, and I can’t be the only one. Please, I beg you, comment down below and tell me if you do this too. 

So for this years Valentines Day Solo Date, I have to work, and all the other girls I work with have boyfriends, or at least someone to get drunk with, so after work, I will be making myself a romantic dinner for one, or more realistically getting takeout, and curling up on the couch and quite possibly marathoning some Once Upon a Time In Wonderland, because whats more romantic than Alice searching for her lost genie love. (It makes more sense if you watch it, It’s Alice meets Aladdin, meets Robin Hood, meets all of Disney). Maybe I’ll watch a little Sweet Home Alabama, if I’m feeling really sappy, but more likely I’ll watch some Disney Classics, AKA the best love stories out there.

I can almost guarantee that I will be binge-reading Crossed by Ally Condie, which is about a girl who leaves her life in her society to find her lost love. So I’m all set for my solo date, but now I want to help you. Here is a list of my top 5 Young Adult love stories for you to read, as well as my top 5 Walt Disney Classic love stories. You’re welcome.

Top 5 YA Love Stories.
1. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen. Or any other Sarah Dessen for that matter. JL Is about a girl named Annabelle, and something happens to her, which causes her to lose all of her friends. She starts her senior year all alone, and meets a mysterious boy named Owen. Owen is the typical loner, with his nose in a book, and his headphones on loud, all the time. This is literally one of her best novels that I have eve read, and trust me, I’ve read all of them.
2. Matched by Ally Condie. In a society that regulates everything, from the food you eat, to the clothes you wear, it only makes sense that they would want a say in who you marry as well. Every 17 year old gets matched to a suitor, and they are sort of forced to love them. That’s not a problem for Cassia, until she gets matched to two people. Now, for the first time ever, someone gets to choose. Cassia gets to choose her future.
3. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. Warning. Only read this if you are prepared to cry for days, and if you have a large chunk of time, because you will not put this down. 
4. North of Beautiful by Justina Chen. Terra has been taught her whole life that perfection is everything, and that her port wine stain birthmark on her face is the only thing separating her from “perfect.” She believes this until she meets Jacob, the goth boy who helps her see her real beauty, as well as her potential.
5. Avalon High by Meg Cabot. I am in love with this book. Ellie moves to Maryland from the Midwest, and starts her new life at Avalon High. Avalon High is run by Will, the popular jock slash student body president. Suddenly she finds herself in the middle of an epic battle, of Arthurian proportions, where King Arthur himself is fighting to save the world.

Top 5 Walt Disney Classic Love Stories.
1. Cinderella. Classic.
2. Pocahontas. My personal favorite.
3. Tangled. We’ll call it a classic.
4. The Little Mermaid.
5. Beauty and the Beast.

What will you guys be reading and watching this Valentines Day?

Leave a Reply

